It has been over two years since I last posted on this blog and a lot has happened in that time, Erasmus being just one of them.

Like setting up a blog, spending a semester abroad has been another part of my course, one that I have really enjoyed. Though at first I had some misgivings about Erasmus, my opinion was soon changed by the first week of lectures. After going through the long list of modules that I could choose from the final four were:

  1. Icons on Screen
  2. American Rock History
  3. Meta Drama and Meta Theatre
  4. Medieval and Renaissance Literature

Most of the modules, except for Medieval and Renaissance Literature, were modules that were completely new to me. However, each module had supportive and friendly lecturers which always makes participating the class so much easier.

IMG_1921

Icons on Screen was probably my favourite because for my final essay I got to write about the BBC show Sherlock, a current favourite of mine. As part of my essay I compared it with ITV episode ‘Hound of the Baskervilles’ starring Jeremy Brent as the titular character. While writing the essay I found it interesting to notice the similarities and differences between the two, like sense of style and camera angles.

A big area of focus for me though was how the time setting affected the two series as one is set in modern day and the other in the traditional Victorian era. Focusing on that particular area resulted in a light bulb moment for me as it helped give me inspiration for a possible Final Year Project.

That moment, if anything, made Erasmus completely worthwhile.

Photo source: my own picture